Coniston Grand Prix - Course L201

START: at Torver on the West bound carriageway of the A593 and directly opposite the T-junction sign approx. 100 yards west of the junction with the A5084.

Proceed in a South Westerly direction along the A593 (**Beware sharp** ascents, descents and narrow sections of road) to Broughton (6.6 miles) where straight on through village centre, up the sharp hill and on to Wreaks End junction with the A595 (7.8 miles). Take the sharp left bend (**Care**) onto the A595, direction Barrow, to the foot of Grizebeck hill (9.5 miles) – timed hill climb. Straight on, onto the A5092 (Kendal – Lancaster road) up the hill (hill tops out at 11.3 miles) and on to Lowick Junction with the A5084 (13.7 miles).

Bear very sharp left (**care needed**) direction Coniston and continue on the A5084 through Blawith and (**beware new cattle grid**) to the **FINISH** at lane ends 100 yards before the T-junction near the start (distance approx 19.9 miles).

NB: No times will be given to competitors or supporters at finish. Please obey the rules of the road when returning to HQ to hand back your number.

TAKE CARE in Broughton Village Square. Pedestrians don't expect fast bikes. Be very careful at the 2 cattle grids. These are very slippery when wet.

Local Regulations

- Prior to starting competitors must not ride past the finish time keeper during the duration of the event.
- Any competitor making a U-turn in the vicinity of the start or finish will be disqualified from the event.
- Riders must give their number at the finish and elsewhere on the course if requested.
- Riders must not stand in the road at the start or the finish (this constitutes obstruction and is a breach of regulations).
- Riders must not ride with their head down.
- All competitors under the age of 18 and / or Juniors MUST wear a HELMET of HARD / SOFT SHELL construction that conforms to a recognised standard (see regulation 15)
- Cycling time trials strongly recommends all competitors to wear such a helmet.

Coniston Grand Prix

This is a Lakes and Lancs SpoCo counting event.

20 mile hilly SpoCo time trial on course L201 Promoted for & on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules & Regulations. at 2pm on Saturday 18th April 2015 by **Barrow Central Wheelers** incorporating the John Mortimer time trial.

- □ The FERRYHILL MORTIMER TROPHY, donated by the Ferryhill Wheelers will be presented to the fastest rider.
- The LAKELAND LAND ROVER TROPHY donated by Lakeland Land Rover will be presented to the fastest rider up Grizebeck Hill.

Trophies to actual fastest in each category one rider one cash prize except for hill climb.

PRIZES:

Fastest	£30	1 st Junior	£6	* These Prizes kindly	
2 nd Fastest	£20	1 st Juvenile	£5	donated by Wheeler	
3 rd Fastest	£10	1 st Lady	£20	Steve Jenkin	
		HILL CLIMB		*Course Record	£50
1 st V40	£20	Fastest	£15	* Ladies Record	£25
1^{St} V50	£20			*Wheelers Record	£15
1 st V60/70	£20	Fastest Vet	£15	* Best Wheeler	£10
				* Best Lakes RC	£10

EVENT SECRETARY: Allan Nelson, 3 Trinkeld Avenue, Swarthmoor, Cumbria. LA12 0XB (Tel: 01229 587996)

NO	NAME	CLUB	CAT	TIME
1	Scott Smith	Barrow CW	V40	14.01
2	Chris Wilson	The Endurance Store	V40	14.02
3	Peter Knott	Kent Valley RC	V70	14.03
4	Joe Husband	Barrow CW	V50	14.04
5	Thomas Brook	Lancaster CC	S	14.05
6	Chris Smedley	Nelson Whs CC	V40	14.06
7	Eamonn Quinn	Lakes RC	V50	14.07
8	Joshua Whitehead	Rossendale RC	Juv	14.08
9	David Tinker	Clayton Velo	V50	14.09
10	Adam Hartley	PH-MAS Cycling	J	14.10
11	Peter Metcalfe	Barrow CW	S	14.11
12	Dougi Hall	Border City Whs	V50	14.12
13	Peter Haigh	Nelson Whs	V60	14.13
14	Carol Westmorland	Border City Whs	LV40	14.14
15	John O'Callaghan	Barrow CW	V40	14.15
16	Tom Roper	Beacon Whs	J	14.16
17	Mike Westmorland	Border City Whs	V70	14.17
18	Steve Wilkinson	Nelson Whs CC	V50	14.18
19	Paul McKenny	Barrow CW	V50	14.19
20	Henry King	likley CC	S	14.20
21	Graham Carrick	Lakes RC	S	14.21
22	John Gibson	Wigan Whs CC	V40	14.22
23	Shaun Johnston	Barrow CW	S	14.23
24	David Cullen	City of Chester Tri	S	14.24
25	Duncan Orme	Kent Valley RC	V40	14.25
26	Sean Casson	Barrow CW	V40	14.26
27	Andy Ibberson	Allen Valley Velo	V50	14.27
28	Thomas Gibson	Kent Valley RC	S	14.28
29	James Roberts	Chester RC	V40	14.29
30	David Huck	Lakes RC	S	14.30
31	Roy Flanagan	Rossendale RC	V50	14.31
32	William Belcher	Clayton Velo	V50	14.32
33	Kieran Lacey	Lakes RC	S	14.33
34	lan Harcourt	Revolutions Racing	S	14.34
35	Peter Thomas	Kent Valley RC	S	14.35
36	Glenn Rhodes	Barrow CW	V40	14.36
37	lan Sibbert	Garstang CC	V40	14.37
38	Paul Lang	Barrow CW	V50	14.38
39	Howard Lindow	Lakes RC	S	14.39
53		Border City Whs	S	14.40
40	Richard Bickley	Dorder City whs	5	14.40

TIMEKEEPERS:

Tracey Moore (Start) Tracey Moore (finish) Martyn Uttley (hill climb start) Mike Edwards (hill climb finish)

MARSHALS

Start/Finish: Andy Stubbs Farm (<u>A593@3.1</u> miles): Ivor Robinson Broughton: Tony Johnston, Pat Hercberg, Roger Lindsay Broughton Rd / A5092 junction: Terry Smith & Ian Saunders Grizebeck Hill bottom (spotter): Ralph Cooper A5092/A5084 Lowick junction: Steve & Cath Marsden

COURSE RECORD: - 47m 02s Gethin Butler LADIES RECORD: - 55m 28s Karen Steele WHEELERS RECORD: - 51m 09s P J O'Mahoney HILL CLIMB RECORD: - 06m 57s Gethin Butler

Riders must sign the signing on sheet at event headquarters – Torver Village Hall – in order to obtain their race number. Risk assessment will be on display at HQ.

Refreshments are available at event HQ

Parking at event HQ. Parking in the car park of The Church House Inn at your own discretion as we have been unable to obtain permission this year due to closure of business. **Please park sensibly**.

Have a good safe ride and keep your head up.